1770 – a retrospective


Ian Page’s visionary MOZART 250 series continues to build a widespread and highly enthusiastic following. The sixth year of this ground-breaking series begins with this diverse and illuminating overview of the musical year 1770, featuring dramatically charged minor-key symphonies by Vanhal and Johann Christian Bach and arias and duets by Gluck, Haydn and Mozart. The two outstanding young soloists are soprano Samantha Clarke and mezzo-soprano Ida Ränzlöv.

Vanhal Symphony in E minor (e1)
Gluck “O del mio dolce ardor” from Paride ed Elena
“Tutto qui mi sorprende… Le belle immagini” from Paride ed Elena
Haydn “Già si vede” from Le pescatrici
J. C. Bach Duet, “Guardami in volto” from Gioas, re di Giuda
Haydn “Caro Volpino amabile” (2nd version) from Lo speziale
J.C.Bach Symphony in G minor, Op. 6, no. 6
Mozart Duet, “Se viver non degg’io”  from Mitridate, re di Ponto

Pre-concert talk by Richard Wigmore, 6.00pm

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required

Classical Opera will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please confirm if you would like to hear about:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at info@classicalopera.co.uk. We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit our website. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp's privacy practices here.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Share This