Mozart’s London


An overview of the musical scene in London during the 1760s, interspersed with colourful readings from contemporaneous descriptions of the city. The programme includes Mozart’s first symphony, composed in Chelsea when he was eight, a harpsichord concerto by J.C.Bach whose finale is a set of variations on “God Save The King”, and arias from Thomas Arne’s Judith and Artaxerxes.



Symphony No.1 in E flat major, K.16

T. Arne

Four Airs from Judith: “Sleep, gentle Cherub! Sleep descend”

J.C. Bach

Harpsichord Concerto in D major, Op.1, No.6


“Indeed my dear, in vain you strive”


“Patty of the Mill”

T. Arne

“Nymphs and Shepherds”


Symphony No. 4 in D major, K.19

T. Arne

“Amid a thousand racking woes”
“Behold on Lethe’s dismal strand”
“O too lovely, too unkind”
“Fly, soft ideas, fly”

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required

Classical Opera will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please confirm if you would like to hear about:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit our website. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp's privacy practices here.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Share This